Meet the winners of the first TechCircle awards for business transformation excellence

Meet the winners of the first TechCircle awards for business transformation excellence
29 Jun, 2020

Sequoia Capital backed payment gateway provider Razorpay, insurance service provider HDFC Life, consumer electrical equipment manufacturer Bajaj Electricals, hospital chain Max Healthcare and, gold loans NBFC Manappuram Finance were among some well known corporate enterprises that walked away with the Business Transformation Leader Award at the maiden awards instituted by TechCircle to recognise excellence in using technology to run contemporary and traditional businesses.

In all, a total of 11 technology leaders from the corporate world received the Business Transformation Leader Award, which was hosted by TechCircle on July 25th as part of ‘Business Transformation: A Digital Event’. 

The digital conference, which brought together stakeholders and experts from the enterprise technology universe via roundtables and panel discussions, was co-presented by Santa Cruz, California headquartered cloud-based video and voice solutions provider Poly (formed last year through the merger of Plantronics and Polycom). 

The Business Transformation Award took into consideration arguably the two biggest pillars that constitute the backbone of a successful company -- how the business is run and how technology is used to complement the businesses.  

The awards recognized the technology leaders and business leaders who worked in-tandem within their respective organisations to better the company’s growth, strategies deployed and adoption of the latest emerging technologies.

The awardees were selected based on how they impacted cost, productivity, revenue and the overall culture of the organisation.

In the enterprise section of the Business Transformation Leader Award, Vishnu Yeshwant Parab and Pasam VS Prasad from Bajaj Electricals; Puneet Kaur Kohli and VP Nandakumar from Manappuram Finance; Nafees Ahmed and Pinank Shah from Indiabulls; and Rajnish Khare and Parag Rao from HDFC Bank; were among those awarded for their respective IT deployments and accomplishments.

In the emerging section, business-technology leader duos were recognised. Awardees included Prashant Singh and Mradul Kaushik from Max Healthcare; Suparna Ghosh and Thomson Thomas from HDFC Life; Jagdip Kumar and Neeraj Jain from Cosmo Films; Harnath Babu and Arjun Vaidyanathan from KPMG India; Seema Gaur and Anamika Roy Rashtrawar from IFFCO-TOKIO General Insurance; Anil Porter and Sandeep Dwivedi of Interglobe Technology Quotient; and Shashank Kumar and Harshil Mathur from Razorpay.

Apart from the Business Transformation Leader Award, there were also multiple categories of awards where companies were recognised on a host of criteria. The categories included competitive edge, execution, revenue generation and transformation.

While Lyra Network and GE Transportation were among the awardees for their cost optimization initiatives, Power Mech Projects and HDFC Life were among those who bagged awards for the quality of their business transformation initiatives.

Also, specifically recognising the role of creating a workplace that fosters innovation and growth, Supermax Personal Care and Century Enka were among those awarded for the work done in terms of workforce transformations.

The total list of awardees across categories included close to 65 companies known for their culture of innovation, growth and work cultures. Some of the other names included Vedanta, InfoEdge India, Ramco Cements, Hindustan Unilever, Blue Star and a host of other organisations.


The selection process involved a careful assessment of each project nomination received under two segments -- enterprise and emerging, on criteria such as executive sponsorship, impact on cost, productivity, revenue, and a jury score on organization-wide scale of implementation impact.

The jury consisted of subject matter experts from the research arm of Mosaic Digital, the company that owns and publishes TechCircle, and senior executives from Mosaic Digital. 

The jury scored the companies under the different categories and the companies that emerged on the top were awarded for their exceptional business transformation activities undertaken collaboratively by their technology and business leaders.